Attack on media houses: ATC accepts police challan against MQM activists

The Administrative Judge of Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) on Monday accepted the charge sheet (challan) submitted by the police in two cases pertaining to sedition, riots and attack on media houses on 22nd August 2016. According to the charge sheet, as many as 50 accused, including Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s deputy convenor Shahid Pasha, MNA Kanwar Naveed Jameel, and workers — Abdur Rehman, Sabih-ud-din, Raza Hasan, Adnan, Muhammad Nasir, Muhammad Faisal, Nadeem, Zulfiqar, Niaz, Muhammad Amir, Syed Arshad Ali, Abdur Rehman, Muhammad Saleem, Irfan, Ghualm Nabi, Munir Ahmed and Muhammad Asif-had — been arrested in the case.

Ex-MQM chief delivered hate speech against national security agencies, and forced his workers to raise anti-Pakistan slogans. The enraged party workers, who were on hunger strike unto death, attacked the office of a private news channel located in a building at Sadar after their chief addressed them and incited for the offence, the charge sheet stated.

According to the challan the angry workers were also involved in riots and torching the vehicles within the limits of Artillery police station. According to police’s charge sheet, MQM founder, senior leader Farooq Sattar, Muhammad Amir Khan, Gulfaraz Khan Khatak and others were still absconding in this case. The above mentioned absconding suspects have disappeared from the scenario to avoid their arrest; however, the police is trying its best to nab them. While accepting the charge sheet, the judge transferred the case to ATC-II to for further trial.

Business Recorder